List of radio and television stations affected by NBC’s action

The National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has revoked the broadcast licenses of Silverbird TV, AIT, Raypower FM and Rhythm FM, among others, for non-renewal of their N2.66 billion broadcast licenses.

A statement from NBC on Friday noted that the move followed the release of a list of stations that have yet to renew their licenses. According to the Commission, they were granted a two-week waiver in May to do so, after which they risked having their broadcast licenses revoked.

But three months after publication, NBC said, “Some licensees have yet to pay their debts, in violation of the National Broadcasting Commission Act CAP N11, Laws of the Federation of Nigeria, 2004, in particularly Section 10(a) of the Third Schedule to the Act.

“Therefore, after careful consideration, NBC hereby announces the revocation of the licenses of the … stations and gives them 24 hours to cease their operations. Our offices nationwide are hereby requested to work with security agencies to ensure immediate compliance.

The broadcasting regulator said the continued operation of “debtor stations is illegal and poses a threat to national security”.

He called on other broadcast stations that have not yet renewed their licenses for the current term to do so within the next 30 days or face penalties. According to NBC, Friday’s list is the first batch of offenders, adding that a second batch will be released soon.

“The Commission also calls on all IPTV (Internet Protocol Television) and all other broadcast stations that broadcast online to register with the Commission to avoid disconnection,” he added.

“Broadcasters should note that having a TNT or FM license does not guarantee a broadcaster to broadcast online; they are two different licenses.

The Broadcasting Organization of Nigeria (BON) said it would work with stakeholders to resolve the issue.

Below is the list of affected stations:

1. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Abuja
2. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Lagos
3. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Yenagoa
4. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Port Harcourt
5. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Jos
6. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communication Ltd) Benin
7. AIT/Ray Power FM Network (DAAR Communication ltd)
8. Greetings FM (Greetings Media Ltd)
9. Tao FM Network FM (Ovidi Communications Ltd)
10. FM Okene, Zuma FM (Zuma FM Ltd)
11. FM Suleja Crowther FM (Crowther Communications Ltd) FM Abuja
12. We FM (Kings Broadcasting Ltd)
13. FM Benin Linksman International Itd

14. Keffi Bomay Broadcasting Services Ltd Abuja
15. MITV (Murhi International Group Ltd) Ibadan
16. Classic FM (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd) Port Harcourt
17. Classic FM (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd) Lagos
18. Classic Television (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd) Lagos
19. Beat FM (Megalectrics LTD) Lagos
20. Cooper Communications Ltd Lagos
21. Splash FM (West Midlands Ltd) Ibadan

22. Osun State Broadcasting Corporation
23. Rock City FM (Boot Communications Ltd) Abeokuta
24. FM Family (Kalaks Investments Nig. Ltd) Ilugun
25. Space FM (Creazioni Nig. Ltd) Ibadan
26. Radio Jeremi (Radio Jeremi Itd) Effurun
27. Breeze FM (Bays Water Ltd) Akure
28. Vibes FM (Vibes Communication Ltd) Benin
29. Family Love FM (Multimesh Broadcasting Co. Ltd) Port Harcourt
30. Wave FM (South Atlantic Media Ltd)
31. Kogi State Broadcasting Corporation
32. Kwara State Broadcasting Corporation
33. Niger State Broadcasting Company

34. Gombe State Broadcasting Company
35. Lagos State Broadcasting Corporation
36. Ogun State Broadcasting Corporation
37. Ondo State Broadcasting Corporation
38: Rivers State Broadcasting Corporation
39. Bayelsa State Broadcasting Company
40. Cross River State Broadcasting Corporation
41. Imo State Broadcasting Corporation
42. Anambra State Broadcasting Corporation
43. Borno State Broadcasting Corporation
44. Yobe State Broadcasting Corporation
45. Sokoto State Broadcasting Corporation
46. ​​Zamfara State Broadcasting Corporation
47. Kebbi State Broadcasting Corporation
48. Jigawa State Broadcasting Corporation
49. Kaduna State Broadcasting Corporation
50. Katsina State Broadcasting Corporation

51. Lagos ORD

52. Silverbird TV (Silverbird Communications Co. Ltd)

Comments are closed.