National Comedy Awards: 2022 Stand Up To Cancer award winners including Ricky Gervais – and Sean Lock tribute

Sean Lock and Chairman Zelensky were both honored at the awards show, which celebrated the best in British comedy talent

The awards recognize emerging and established acting talent, with the UK public voting for key awards, plus two additional special recognition awards voted on by industry peers.

Register to our newsletter What to watch

The newsletter mute the noise

Host Tom Allen opened the show with special recognition to “our brother in comedy, President Zelensky and the brave people of Ukraine”, who received a standing ovation.

But who took home the night’s big prizes, how was the tribute paid to the late Sean Lock and how can you watch the ceremony for yourself?

Here’s everything you need to know about it.

How was Sean Lock honored?

A moving tribute was paid by veteran funnyman Harry Hill to his late friend and fellow comedian Sean Lock, who died of cancer in 2021 aged 58, after being diagnosed with the disease a few years prior.

He also wrote and starred in the popular BBC sitcom 15 floors and brought smiles to many for its surreal content and deadpan comedic style.

Lock then posthumously won the award for Outstanding Performance in Male Comedic Entertainment for 8 out of 10 Cats Countdown.

Sean Lock performing in London in 2009 (Photo: Jo Hale/Getty Images)

Who were the winners?

The show’s panelist Katherine Ryan also won Outstanding Female Entertainment Performance for 8 out of 10 Cats Countdown.

Netflix’s steamy comedy Sex Education topped the scripted categories, taking home four trophies.

Its stars Emma Mackey, Asa Butterfield and Ncuti Gatwa won Outstanding Comedy Actress, Outstanding Comedy Actor and Outstanding Supporting Role respectively.

The series itself won the Best Scripted Comedy category.

In the two special recognition awards, Billy Connolly received the Victoria Wood Lifetime Achievement Award and Sharon Horgan received the Caroline Aherne Outstanding Achievement in Writing Award.

Other winners included Ricky Gervais for Best Stand-Up Show, Taskmaster for Best Comedy Entertainment Show and Chris and Rosie Ramsey for Best Comedy Podcast, along with Shagged, Married, Anoyed.

Internet sensation Munya Chawawa was also voted best breakthrough.

How can I watch the rewards?

Full exclusive coverage of the ceremony, held at the Camden Roundhouse in London, will air on Saturday March 5 at 9pm on Channel 4 and All4.

A message from the editor:

Thanks for the reading. NationalWorld is a new national news brand, produced by a team of journalists, editors, video producers and designers who live and work across the UK. Learn more about who is who in the team, and our editorial values. We want to create a community among our readers, so follow us on Facebook, Twitter and instagram, and continue the conversation. You can also subscribe to our newsletters and get a selection of our best reads delivered to your inbox every day.

Comments are closed.